top of page

Love Twitters

Augusta Read Thomas
5 min

When Nicola Melville asked me to compose a piece for solo piano, musically recognizable as an American-style work, the result was my LOVE TWITTERS, which uses Irving Berlin’s “They Say it’s Wonderful” as it’s basis, and was premiered by Nicola Melville at Carleton College on September 28, 2007.

LOVE TWITTERS is a jittery, twittering, energized, fun spirited work. The pianist is asked to accentuate the jittery rhythms throughout making a clear difference between different rhythmic blocks (2s,3s, 4s, 5s, 6s, 7s, etc.). The fermatas are meant to add to the “stop/start” changeable moods; likewise, the grace notes are meant to throw the beat off, making the pulse less stable. LOVE TWITTERS should be played as fast as possible.

It is a happy 50th birthday gift for Alan Fletcher.

On concert programs, composer name should be listed as:
LOVE TWITTERS (2006), Irving Berlin/Augusta Read Thomas

A Seat At The Piano welcomes you to pull up a bench and join our generous family of supporters! If ASAP has helped you, please consider donating to help us keep growing. Click here to donate.

bottom of page